HABERSHAM COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS DEPARTMENTAL BUDGET REVIEW MEETING 9:30 P.M., TUESDAY, MARCH 26, 2024 HABERSHAM COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE BUILDING COMMISSION CONFERENCE ROOM 130 JACOB'S WAY, CLARKESVILLE, GA 30523

A quorum of the Habersham County Board of Commissioners attended departmental budget review meetings that occurred on Tuesday, March 26, 2024. These meetings were publicly advertised as potentially having a quorum of Commissioners in attendance and scheduled to be held from 9:30 a.m. to approximately 4:00 p.m. in the Commission Conference Room of the Habersham County Courthouse located at 130 Jacob's Way, Clarkesville, GA 30523.

Present at the start of the meeting was Vice Chairman Bruce Harkness, Commissioner Bruce Palmer, Commissioner Jimmy Tench, County Manager Alicia Vaughn, Finance Director Tim Sims, Financial Administrator Kiani Holden, County Clerk Brandalin Carnes, members of the media and the public.

Absent at the start of the meeting was Chairman Ty Akins and Commissioner Dustin Mealor.

Various elected officials and county staff were present throughout the day as scheduled below to present their budgets on behalf of their respective offices and department.

CALL TO ORDER

Vice Chairman Bruce Harkness called the meeting to order at 10:17 a.m.

PRESENTATIONS

- 1. District Attorney's Office (District Attorney George Christian)
- 2. State Court Unable to attend, will be rescheduled for a later date and time.
- 3. Juvenile Court (Judge Nicole Carswell)
- 4. Probate Court (Judge Pam Wooley)
- 5. Sheriff, Heat, SRO (Sheriff Joey Terrell, Major Les Hendrix & Chief Deputy Robin Krockum)
- 6. Sheriff, Jail (Sheriff Joey Terrell, Major Les Hendrix & Chief Deputy Robin Krockum)

Chairman Ty Akins joined the meeting at 11:05 a.m.

7. Public Defender (Public Defender Drew Powell)

Vice Chairman Bruce Harkness left the meeting 11:25 a.m. A quorum of the Commission was still maintained with Commissioner Akins, Commissioner Palmer and Commissioner Tench.

- 8. Fire Unable to attend, will be rescheduled.
- 9. EMS- Unable to attend, will be rescheduled.
- 10. Tax Commissioner's Office (Tax Commissioner June Black-Warren)
- 11. Fleet Services (Director Jerry Baggett and Assistant Director Jared Beaudoin)
- 12. Roads & Bridges Services (Director Jerry Baggett and Assistant Director Jared Beaudoin)

There were no presentations between 12:25 p.m. and 1:05 p.m. for a lunch break.

- 13. Facilities Mgmt./Transit (Director Mike Bramlett)
- 14. Information Technology (Director Tracy Williamson and IT Administrator Diana Gallegos)

15. Senior Center (Director Kathy Holcomb)

Chairman Ty Akins left the meeting at 2:07 p.m. There was no longer a quorum of the Commission at this time as only Commissioner Tench and Commissioner Palmer remained.

- 16. Solid Waste (Director Johnnie Vickers)
- 17. Airport (Manager Bill Harden)
- 18. Habersham County Library (Clarkesville Library Manager Shawna Meers-Ernst & Cornelia Library Manager Josh Smith)

ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 2:51 p.m. There was no vote to adjourn the meeting as there was not quorum of the Commission.

The purpose of these meetings was informative in nature to allow department heads and elected officials to explain their budget requests with the Finance Department, County Manager and Commissioners in attendance. There were no votes or official actions taken at this meeting regarding the budget.

Respectfully submitted,
Commission Chairman Ty Akins
County Clerk Brandalin Carnes